PDA

View Full Version : AAR: Pat MacNamara 2-Day Pistol/Carbine Class, Eagle Creek, OR 10-11 NOV 2012

okie john
11-19-12, 11:48
Overall Notes
I took Pat McNamara’s TAPs class in Eagle Creek, Oregon on 10-11 NOV 2012. I'm posting this under Miscellaneous AARs instead of Grey Group because Mac has since moved to Alias Training (http://aliastraining.com/).

I chose to train with Mac after a lot of research. I studied the SME forums here, read hundreds of AARs from other trainers, and researched trainers on other sites. I also talked on the phone with forum members who have trained with him and others to get their perspective on what they learned and how it improved their skill sets over time.

DISCALIMER: When I was in the Army, Mac and I were in the same battalion for a year or so, and I ran into him occasionally before he left for more interesting places. But aside from a few PMs and questions on the SME Forum this year, I’ve had no contact with him since the late 80s. I was intrigued when I heard that he had written a book and was a trainer, but having known him slightly a quarter of a century ago is not the reason I chose to train with him.

Once I decided to train with Mac, I read his book, “TAPS: Tactical Application of Practical Shooting” (http://www.amazon.com/T-A-P-S-Tactical-Application-Practical-Shooting/dp/1440109591). I read every thread I could find about training with him. I also read every thread on his SME forum, and posed questions there myself.

The reason I chose Mac was to learn about performance-based training by comparing it to the kind of outcome-based training that I’ve been doing. In performance-based training, you master a skill or set of skills at slow speed, then gradually increase their speed and complexity. It requires a willingness to let go of the need for a fast run to get a perfect run. It sounds easy, but you have to put your ego aside before you can do it, and that’s a bitch.

Class Notes