PDA

View Full Version : Help with components for 223 rem (newbie)

Big Rso
11-20-12, 17:32
Hello fellas.

Well I am new to reloading and want to find the right load for my stag model 3 barrel is 1/9 twist 16" chrome lined. I currently have in stock winchester smr primers, 60 gr nosler varmint ballistic tips and cfe-223 powder. I am looking for recommendations on other powders that meter well. Also interested on opinions on primers (wolf) My main goal is to develope an sd cartridge. I also would like to know if I can use the load data provided for the 60gr hornady v-max , I cant find any data for this powder and head. Thanks in advance.

blackgunnut223
11-20-12, 18:16
I dont meter my powder, but AR-COMP likes heavier bullets, over 55gr. I get good results out of h335 as well.

Big Rso
11-20-12, 21:16
I dont meter my powder, but AR-COMP likes heavier bullets, over 55gr. I get good results out of h335 as well.

Thanks for the tip I was looking for some h335 but my local supply shop doesnt have any in stock.

gimpy
11-20-12, 21:45
TAC is known to meter well

Big Rso
11-20-12, 21:57
TAC is known to meter well

I am going to see tomorrow if my shop has tac or h322 in stock. I know they have varget but I see so many mix reviews.

Does anyone know where I can find load data for cfe-223/60gr nosler ballistic tip? I cant find anything...:confused:

m1a_scoutguy
11-20-12, 23:29
Hey there NYer !!! I use AA2230 alot,,meters great & is a decent powder,,I have loaded thousands of 223/5.56 rds with this powder and it works well for me !! Lots of guys like Tac,,,some use Reloader 15 I think,,there is H335 also,,plus I'm sure there are a few more decent choices !! I have been wanting to try the CF223,,but just haven't gotten around to it !!! Here are some place to look for info:
http://data.hodgdon.com/cartridge_load.asp
http://www.alliantpowder.com/reloaders/RecipeList.aspx?gtypeid=2
http://www.accuratepowder.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/accurate_load_data_3.5.pdf

markm