PDA

View Full Version : 870 Express Stock Suggestions

RD62
11-21-12, 21:34
I have an 870 Express that I've had for 20 years now.

I haven't used it in a hunting capacity in almost 20 years now. I'd like to turn it into more of a fighting shotgun. Plans are for a magazine extension, new follower, sling mounts, stock set, maybe a side shell holder, and possibly a white light.

My question has to do with stock sets. I understand the factory forend can interfere with the shell holder and I'd prefer a synthetic stock as well. I'd like something that allows for a squared shooting stance. I'm also unsure whether I should go with a traditional styled stock set or a pistol grip which is closer to the AR's and AK's I've been running for years?

I'm no expert on scatter guns so what are y'alls suggestions? I'm not liking the looks of the Magpul set.

KenpoCop822
11-22-12, 04:14
I can tell you what I did with mine.

I took off the factory stock and put on a Mesa Tactical Stock Adapter. Onto that I put the Magpul MIAD grip and the Magpul CTR stock.

For a Shell holder, I put on the Mesa Tactical 8 shell side saddal which attaches to the Stock adapter.

I have a picattiny rail forend, though I'm probably going to be swapping that out soon for something else, such as the Magpul MOE Forend.

If I get some time, I'll try to attach some pics, but no guarantee.

BobM
11-22-12, 07:53
I bought an Express about the time they first came out. Since then I've had the 28" VR barrel cut back to about 19" and re-threaded for chokes. I also cut about an inch off the factory stock added a Sure-fire forend light and a sidesaddle. I had an extension but ditched it years ago due to the weight but I'm thinking about getting another one.
If you skip the Surefire forend you will want to replace the forend or cut off the extension. Lately I've been hunting with my daughters 870 and I see where the extension interferes with access to the mag tube.

AZ-Renegade
11-22-12, 07:59