PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with a LMT 308

Dacam
11-29-12, 08:44
Let me first say that I am totally new to rifle shooting. I started with my Daniel Defense M4 V7, basically rapid fire plinking at 100yds and in.

I then wanted to learn to shoot longer ranges with a bigger caliber 2 months ago. So now I own a Lmt 308 and this heavy beast is a whole lot more fun to shoot than my 5.56 rifle. Its heavy, about 13lbs with optic but I shoot it bench or prone anyways.

So yesterday, a group of friends and I went out to a spot in the desert to do some shooting. I brought out my new steel target bought from Kurt Stone at LV Steel. We set the steel out to 300yds and I went to work at fine tuning my scope. A few rounds later I was banging steel at every press of my Geissele SSA-E trigger. We then set the target back to 500yds and adjusted my elevation another 7moa. "Clang", first round hit at 500yds then ever round after that was a hit, with a slight right to left wind at around 10 to 15mph.

This distance may not seem far by some of you but for me its a big deal. Seeing that white steel at that distance seems so far away, but with the Lmt, its no problem for a newbie like me.
The Lmt has a very good factory two stage trigger but IMHO the Geissele is simply the best. I have the SSD-E in my ar15 as well.

I cant wait to get back out and try 600 and 800yds.

LMT 308
20" stainless steel barrel
Vortex Viper PST 2.5-10x44
Geissele SSA-E
Federal Gold Medal Match 168gr

http://i1139.photobucket.com/albums/n552/Dacam1/photo.jpg
http://i1139.photobucket.com/albums/n552/Dacam1/photo1.jpg

Target all painted and new again.
http://i1139.photobucket.com/albums/n552/Dacam1/photo2.jpg

Yama Arashi
11-29-12, 17:42
Nice work and set-up! Congratulations on the acquisition as well - I'm quite fond of the MRP rifles.

I like the 5.56 rifles, 9mm handguns, etc., but something about the bigger bores in 7.62, 45, or whatever, always make them more fun to shoot, IMO.

Suwannee Tim
11-29-12, 18:51