PDA

View Full Version : ALG ACT vs. Spikes Battle Trigger

djmorris
11-29-12, 12:45
Just like the title says. They are roughly the same price - the Spikes trigger is maybe $5-10 cheaper. From what I'm reading they are pretty similar. Which is better for the money in terms of function and/or reliability? Speak from experience please and not just "**** Spikes", etc because I really don't care about their business practice or price gouging.

warner41
11-29-12, 12:58
I have (2) ACT's, a QMS, (2) SSA-e's, a SSA, and a handful of stock fcg's. The ACT is a good trigger, it's not a SAA but for $65 it is a very nice upgrade IMHO. I have no experience with the Spike's but for a budget minded upgrade you won't be dissapointed with the ACT. Good luck.

Shiz
11-29-12, 14:32
Big difference is that Gueiselle (sp) tunes the ACT, while Spikes does coat them, they do not tune them to my knowledge.

Noodles
11-29-12, 14:55
Am I the only one put off by Spikes branding it a "Battle Trigger"?

djmorris
11-29-12, 15:01
Am I the only one put off by Spikes branding it a "Battle Trigger"?

I understand your point but doesn't ALG call theirs a "Combat Trigger" or some crap? It's just a sales pitch to make us feel like real "operators" :D

Noodles
11-29-12, 15:08
I understand your point but doesn't ALG call theirs a "Combat Trigger" or some crap? It's just a sales pitch to make us feel like real "operators" :D

Yea, you're not wrong. I feel like the word combat implies an unfortunate circumstance you may find yourself in, Battle to me implies you went looking for war :) It's just not a word I would chose to market a trigger with.

nickdrak
11-29-12, 15:16
ALG. It is well worth the extra $ over the Spike's trigger. I had 3 different Spike's triggers when they first came out. The forgings were pretty rough. While the pull was smooth compared to a standard Milspec single stage trigger, there was a good amount of creep in all of the Spike's triggers I had.