PDA

View Full Version : I hope I made the right AR choice

jdm
12-07-12, 15:01
I am new to AR's and I wanted to buy a good quality gun. So I bought a DD M4V1 LW which is what the dealer recommended. I know it is a little late but I was wondering if you guys think that I made a good choice and what would be some good accessories to put on it. Thanks for any information.

RearwardAssist
12-07-12, 15:02
I think you did good but hear is some very good reading to look at.

https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=7355

hec912
12-07-12, 15:03
DD is good to go

nc_556
12-07-12, 15:10
You're good. At least you have a dealer that is apparently honest and knowledgeable. A lot of others aren't so lucky.

In this day and age of easy access to information I'm amazed at how many people do their research AFTER their purchasing.

jdm
12-07-12, 15:23
Thanks again guys for your opinions I appreciate it. Yes I agree that I should have done a better job of researching something before buying it but I was at the gun shop and I took the dealers word on what to get.

AKDoug
12-07-12, 15:30
Assuming that carbine came with a DD fixed rear, the only thing you need to get going is a good sling, 5 mags, and some ammo. Sign up for a carbine class and go from there. You will very likely end up with a red dot sight and a weapon light after that.

yossarian42
12-07-12, 15:30
That's the first time I've ever heard of a gun store recommending a good rifle. Usually they'll tell you they're all the same and sell you whatever they have the biggest mark up on. Usually rock river.

RMiller
12-07-12, 15:35
Good job sir!!

Like recommended above, buy plenty of ammo, and a few more mags. Shoot it. A carbine class wouldn't hurt.

MistWolf
12-07-12, 15:40
Congrats on the new rifle. Shoot before accessorizing. It will save you a ton of cash

Blak1508
12-07-12, 19:55