PDA

View Full Version : How to teach your kids to react to mass shootings?

crusader377
12-14-12, 13:21
This shooting in CT really hit a nerve with me because I have a daughter in kindergarten. This is a question particularly for LEOs or individuals on the board that do various sort of protection work or security consulting. What is the best way to teach younger children how to react to a mass shooting type situation without making them paranoid or overally scared?

If you are in LEO or do security work please qualify it in your responses.

Thank you!

Doc Safari
12-14-12, 13:47
I worked in law enforcement for eight years, not that revealing that is particularly relevant to my response to your thread.

I would say tread very lightly. You don't want to ruin part of your kids' childhood by making them afraid of something that may never happen.

I would simply train them to be able to either hide or run from any "generic" threat without bringing school shootings into it.

The same way you teach your kids not to talk to strangers, teach them to be "situationally aware" of something wrong and to trust their instincts to leave an area if someone scares them in some way.

Then augment that with teaching them to always look for the exits and/or a hiding place when they enter a room "just in case."

I have never had kids, so that is my "expert" opinion. :rolleyes:

AKDoug
12-14-12, 14:27
It's a tough subject. All my kids have outgrown the "run and hide" stage. Even "professionals" can't agree on an appropriate response to an "active" shooter incident. I try and teach my kids to think on their feet and to not freeze in the face of fear. The problem is, how can you actually test their reaction to fear. Every soldier, firefighter, cop etc. receives a well developed and evolved program of training that weeds out the weak. Even after that, some of those folks still freeze in the heat of danger.