PDA

View Full Version : keyhole upper

warpigM-4
02-22-08, 14:59
ok I just got a upper and it has a keyhole stamp on it .It was listed as a WOA UPPER.but i thought keyhole stamps were used by colt ??and it is more a flat black then the satin finish on my double star lower.so what is a good quick easy way to get that satin finish to match .duracoat?. any help will be great my barrel came in today so i need to get this done fast .:

Robb Jensen
02-22-08, 16:20
The symbol is from the forging company..........Cerro Forge.

warpigM-4
02-22-08, 16:31
The symbol is from the forging company..........Cerro Forge.
ah they have made uppers for colt too?I am a newbie as you can tell.trained with a Colt M-4 and had to have one once i got home from training .can't afford a colt right now but hope to bulid one up soon.thank you for letting me know about the upper

Robb Jensen
02-22-08, 16:52
ah they have made uppers for colt too?I am a newbie as you can tell.trained with a Colt M-4 and had to have one once i got home from training .can't afford a colt right now but hope to bulid one up soon.thank you for letting me know about the upper

Yes Colt uses Cerro forgings quite often.

RAM Engineer
02-22-08, 18:04

not to put too fine a point on it, but iirc Cerro makes the FORGINGS that Colt machines into uppers. As GotM4 pointed out, Colt actually makes the uppers.

Lawdog537
02-22-08, 18:31
I noticed the same marking on two of my three S&W uppers as well, and wondered what it meant..Thanks. Now I wonder why it is only on two of the three................................

warpigM-4
02-23-08, 16:07
not to put too fine a point on it, but iirc Cerro makes the FORGINGS that Colt machines into uppers. As GotM4 pointed out, Colt actually makes the uppers.