PDA

View Full Version : New AR owner (pics)

whitetiger7654
09-05-06, 21:58
Hi. I'm new to the AR world but already enjoying myself. I purchased a Bushmaster XM15 E2S Modular Flattop. I love the gun it shoots great and is probably more accurate than me. I do have one small question though. I purchased some 30 round magazines the same day I don't know the brand name. But sometimes they get pushed in to far and stop the bolt. Is this common? How can I stop it other than making sure not to insert them to much?

Gun pictures here:
http://home-and-garden.webshots.com/album/550998034BiwYBM

davemcdonald
09-05-06, 22:57
The best advise that I can give you brother is to get some training. Buy some quality ammo and get signed up for a beginners carbine class. If you can't afford to travel to one of the big named courses then look locally. I am willing to bet there is at least one tactical course being offered in central Florida.

You are not referring to the bolt stopping on the magazine when you pull the charging handle to the rear with an empty magazine in the magazine well, are you?

Dave

John_Wayne777
09-06-06, 07:31
Is this happening on the first couple of rounds or is it happening all the time?

If it is happening on the first couple of rounds, try loading your magazines with 28 rounds and see if that improves things.

If it is happening with more than that, then one of the numerous AR gods here on the forum will need to talk to you.

M4arc
09-06-06, 08:03
Are there any markings on the mags? Look on either the body or the floor plate. If you can't find any markings try and take some pictures for us.

SuicideHz
09-06-06, 08:47
Like Dave said, if an empty mag stops the bolt when the bolt is pulled rearward, the rifle is working properly.

If not, find out what the real problem is. Don't download to 28 just because :(

whitetiger7654
09-06-06, 09:16