PDA

View Full Version : Rail hand guard???

Answer
12-20-12, 15:09
Well I'm totally new to ARs and need some advice..I want and need a hand guard with rails on it..I would like it to be as long as it can be on my gun and not over priced. What can y'all recommend?? Again I'm totally new to this..here is my current rifle

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/12/21/vyperu8y.jpg

And I'd like just a full 4 rail hand guard..also are they relatively easy to changeout? Thanks!

Zane1844
12-20-12, 15:13
You either have to get a low profile gas block are get a 7 or 9 inch rail depending on your gas system.

Answer
12-20-12, 15:15
You either have to get a low profile gas block are get a 7 or 9 inch rail depending on your gas system.

so i have to keep my front post sight on? thats one thing i didn't wanna do..can i get a 7 or 9 inch rail and take the front post sight off?

scooter22
12-20-12, 15:17

This is just not true.

I would recommend a 12" Centurion C4 Rail - it attaches to your stock barrel nut: http://www.rainierarms.com/?page=shop/detail&product_id=2509

You can cut down and "shave" the FSB so that the extended rail will fit.

If you don't want to do that Centurion also makes a C4 rail that allows you to keep the FSB intact, but also allows for the rail to extend past the FSB: http://www.rainierarms.com/?page=shop/detail&product_id=2975

If you wanted slick/tubestyle rails that can mount on the factory barrel nut I would check out the 13" VTac TRX Extreme Alpha Rail:
http://www.vikingtactics.com/rifleacc_troyalpharail.html

Tutorials on YouTube on how to cut/shave your FSB:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I5rPPyYdFUs

*Note: a dremel can be used; there are threads/video tutorials all over the place on how to cut down your FSB*

Zane1844
12-20-12, 15:22
This is just not true.

I would recommend a 12" Centurion C4 Rail - it attaches to your stock barrel nut: http://www.rainierarms.com/page=shop/detail&product_id=2509