PDA

View Full Version : LMT Defender Question

Kochman
12-23-12, 21:25
Hey guys.

I'm a noob so bear with me. :D

Bought my first AR today which is a LMT Defender. Choices were very limited since everyone is out trying to get an AR, but I remembered reading good things about LMT so when I saw it I jumped on it right away.

Now I have a question for you guys. My LMT did not come with a compensator on it, just the straight barrel, but when looking online I noticed my barrel is different than every picture I can find.

This is the exact model I have:
http://images.rockwellarms.com/ProductImages/LMT/STD16-AR15.jpg

Except that my barrel does not have the indents in it where it gets thinner in the middle and a little thinner towards the end. It is just a straight barrel that is the same size the entire way. There are no threads on the end. The barrel is marked .556 1/7 on it, but I am just wondering if this is an older version of the barrel?

Just trying to get to the bottom of why my barrel is different and why it did not come with a compensator. I asked in the store about the compensator and they said I could get one added if I want, but I'm just wondering if they put a different barrel on it, or if maybe this is a much older model?

Just found a picture, mine looks exactly like this:
http://www.anacortesgunshop.com/content/images/thumbs/0005817_300.jpeg

sapper36
12-23-12, 21:35
What state do you live in? It looks like a California compliant rifle, but I don't know if LMT ever made anything like that.

Kochman
12-23-12, 21:43
I'm in NY.

jbo723
12-23-12, 21:46
I'm in NY.

Then it's a ban compliant model..Doesn't NY require a Comp and an adjustable stock to be pinned?

Kochman
12-23-12, 21:55
Then it's a ban compliant model..Doesn't NY require a Comp and an adjustable stock to be pinned?

Ya my stock is pinned. So I guess this is a different barrel bc it is AWB Compliant?