PDA

View Full Version : 223 case life

Slinger
02-24-08, 11:13
Any of you guys kept track of how many reloads you get out of a case? I've got a bunch from 30 years ago that are starting to give up the ghost. Incipient case head separation. Shot them out of several guns. Just curious.

jmart
02-24-08, 11:19
4-5, depending upon how hot you load them and the quality of the brass. I can get that many out of a current production LC case.

Geoffrey
02-24-08, 13:16
I am new to reloading, why can you only get 4-5 reloads out of your brass?

Do they fail? Or are they out of spec in some way?

Also, are there brands of brass you can reload more times than others?

Thanks.

jmart
02-24-08, 13:33
In my experience, the primer pocket enlarges ever so slightly on each firing that at some point I just don't trust them to hold onto the primer for another firing.

When using a hand priming tool during reloading, you can feel the resistance upon seating a primer. When priming a once fired LC case that's been prepped, you can feel the resistance, it instill confidence. But by the 4th/5th firing, when you reprime that same case, there's very little resistance. I don't tempt fate by continuing to reload that case after that point. Maybe it's good for another 4-5 firings, but I'm too chicken to go down that path to find out when I'm into the wall, the yellow flag flies and the emergency crews begin rolling.

Good cases -- LC, Win.

Bad cases -- FC. I load those only once. They have soft pockets. Some guys won't even mess with them. I only scrounge these cases where I see the guys shooting NIB Fed/AE. I know those are once fired cases. But if I don't see them shoot it right from the box, I let them lie.

Slinger
02-24-08, 13:36
4-5, depending upon how hot you load them and the quality of the brass. I can get that many out of a current production LC case.