PDA

View Full Version : Oscillating Mass

Sparky5019
12-29-12, 10:01
Ok guys,

I'm going to say something that might seem dumb until you put a bit of thought into it.

I started doing the research when I started playing with these rifles a few years ago and came to the conclusion that I didn't want all the extra mass of a FA carrier and a H,H2,H3 etc. buffer because to me it increased the recoil impulse of the gun (16" carbine gas system).

It then came to my attention that the reason everyone was preferring these setups was the need to keep the action closed a bit longer to let the case retract from its expansion at firing.

That said, I thought one could accomplish the same thing with a heavier spring and still have a lower oscillating mass of a standard carbine buffer and maybe even a LIGHTENED carrier. So, I chucked that turd into the mill vise and had at it...one or two destroyed end mills later (them sum bitches are hard!) I had a lighter carrier.

I put it all back together with a Tactical Springs "Enhanced" Blue spring and took it out and ran it. It ran great! The action cycled faster, the buffer did not bottom out on the back of the RE, fed great; I could actually shoot the gun faster!

I have been using a PWS comp (soon to be a BCM or BC) and the gun seemed, subjectively, shoot flatter meaning to me that the rearward moving mass didn't combine with what little muzzle rise there was and create compound effect.

Now the only caveat to this is that I have been shooting only steel case ammo. This gun might cycle too fast for brass ammo; I haven't had the time to try that out to see. Even if it did, to me the theory still holds up and I would install a "Extra Power" Red spring and only resort to increasing the mass as a last option.