PDA

View Full Version : Good option for a B.O.B or G.H.B?

bluejackets92fs
12-31-12, 01:28
I am very new to the whole prepping thing and really wish I would have started sooner. What I have been doing is making a 72 hour/bug out bag. I have almost all of it completed with the exception of a few loose ends. I am looking for a discreet bag that is durable. Would this be a good option or should I look at another brand. I really want an Eberlestock but that would be way over kill for my pack as of right now. I would get it in black.
http://oakleyvault.com/product/oakley-flak-pack-3/92271OVT-411

Kaw77
12-31-12, 10:21
seems a little small, honestly
I notice that the zippered side pockets may be too small for water/Nalgene bottles?
I don't see a waist belt - but if that doesn't matter to you......

Kaw77
12-31-12, 10:26
edit would not let me post this link, sorry for 2 part response
check this out - it receives numerous positive reviews and is a reasonable cost

http://www.backcountryedge.com/kelty-redwing-50-3100.aspx?utm_source=GoogleMerch&utm_medium=dfm&zProductAttributeID=3167&utm_campaign=pla&utm_term={keyword}&gclid=CK2th_2GxbQCFeiPPAodMxoAxQ

Who0ligan
12-31-12, 12:10
Agreed, much too small for those purposes unless you're only packing the basics. It all comes down to what you're aiming to keep in it. I would say for a BOB you'll need something that's at least 2500ci.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

bluejackets92fs
12-31-12, 19:11
Thanks for the tips guys.
So far my kit consist of enough items for a few days. Basic first aid items, water purification system, zip ties, paracord for shelter making, fishing line, water proof container. I know i'm leaving items out.

I know it needs improving and I will get it there. I will probably go bigger since I will find more things to put in there I'm sure. Cost really isn't a huge concern but I am also not wanting to drop $300 on something either.

RatDrall
01-02-13, 05:49
Thanks for the tips guys.