PDA

View Full Version : Trouble picking first hand gun

Bodhi
12-31-12, 12:26
I know there's dozens of threads on picking peoples first handgun.

I am new to shooting, my top three contenders were the most popular and expected guns you would find in these types of threads: the M&P9, Glock 17 or 19, and the XD9.

The M&P felt great in my hands, the XD also felt pretty good, just not as much of an instant comfort as the M&P. And the glock felt like something I could get used to, a bit like holding a block of wood though.

Here's the dilemma, I was dead-set on getting the M&P 9, but after reading all these problems with the accuracy, i'm a bit discouraged about getting one. I want the accuracy to be blamed solely on me, the shooter, not the gun.

The glock has numerous threads on reliability issues with the gen4 and being that I want to buy new, a gen3 would be out of the question.

The XD is always talked about with its reliability. But the general consensus from most of the posters here, who are obviously more experienced and seasoned, say that the XD doesn't hold a candle to the glock or the M&P. Although, everywhere I have read, it isn't picky on ammo at all.

I don't want to spend more than $550. This will be used for the range, but it'll double as a home defense weapon, as it will be my first gun.

Should I be discouraged by either the M&P accuracy problem or the Glock's extractor issue? Also, i'm in California, so I'd have to get the 10 round mags, which from what I've been reading in a recent thread, a lot of people are having problems with...

The only thing stopping me from purchasing a handgun is deciding which one, at this point. I've already obtained my HSC about a week back.