PDA

View Full Version : M&P 9FS HK P30

slappy
01-09-13, 00:57
I picked up an HK P30 a few weeks ago. Put roughly 400 rounds through it. It feels amazing in my hand and I thought I was shooting it well for what hand gun experience I have.

I bought an M&P 9FS last week and took it to the range for the first time tonight to find that I greatly outshoot the HK with the M&P.

I ran 100 rounds through each gun and my groups with the M&P were easily half of my groups with the HK. Keep in mind I'm quite new to pistol shooting (3 months). Would it be normal for a newcomer to experience such a drastic difference from one gun to the next?

Not sure if I got lucky with the M&P but it seems quite accurate for me (though I'm sure a better shooter may find otherwise). I was limited to a 15 yard range tonight though I'll try longer this weekend.

Attached photo is rapid fire from M&P at 10 yards. Didn't save my HK target but it was quite a bit larger group.

Kenneth
01-09-13, 01:41
If you are going for groups on a new platform to you then you should start a a lot closer range and then farther distances. Every Hk I have shot has been very accurate. I have an HK45 and a M&P9 and the Hk out shoots it every time. The M&P is accurate as well though.

rathos
01-09-13, 01:48
I am gonna guess that your HK is a DA/SA gun? Most shooters that haven't practiced a lot will have a harder time with the transition and notice groups are a bit bigger. Some even have issues with the LEM due to the weight and length of pull. The M&P has the same trigger pull each time so it is some what easier to master. Dry fire with the HK will most likely dramatically increase your accuracy.

Hogsgunwild
01-09-13, 06:51