PDA

View Full Version : Anyone use crossbreed supertuck?

yfzjim
03-01-08, 00:04
Ive heard these are great. Does anyone have any first hand experience with them? I'll be using it for my springfield XD9 SC
http://www.crossbreedholsters.com/beltslide.html

Alpha Sierra
03-01-08, 15:14
I have been using a Supertuck since about 8 months ago for my S&W Model 65.

I only bought it because it was the only tuckable holster for a S&W K frame that did not have a six month long wait.

The concept is good but the execution left much to be desired.

The clips they were using back then were complete shit. They could not be snapped over the belt. The belt had to be threaded through. And the slots for the belt were narrow enough that my most commonly used belt did not fit. I had to spend more money (and time) to order a set of CTAC clips from Comp Tac before I could use my new holster. Strike one.

The kydex was molded very haphazardly to the contours of the gun, making retention nearly non-existent. I had to spend nearly two hours heating the material up and slowly molding it around the gun to get decent retention. Compared to the molding of my J frame CTAC, the Crossbreed was done very amateurishly. Strike two.

There are several holes for the threaded inserts that you screw the clips to. The have these sharp prongs that are hammered into the leather. It is impossible to move those inserts to another hole and sink the barbs in without whatever tool was used to install them by the maker. This made the holster's "great" adjustability a moot point. Strike three.

So, in summary, buy something else if something else is available. If you want a leather/kydex hybrid, get one from Comp-Tac (Minotaur) or Tucker Gunleather (The Answer). If you like all leather, Kevin Manley at K&D Holsters is hard to beat, except for the long (but worthwhile) wait.

I just got today the two holsters that I ordered from Kevin in early October and I could not be happier. I am not a Kydex fan.