PDA

View Full Version : NY's Gun Community Has Gone Insane (Help Define The Actual Laws)

Mac5.56
01-12-13, 22:17
Hey Guys,

Please if you are a lawyer in our state, or an LEO with actual knowledge of our gun laws it would be awesome if you chimed in, as I am a bit confused a little upset at the moment regarding the culture that seems to be infiltrating the NY state firearms community.

Before I bought an AR in NY I researched the AWB and I have always made sure I am operating within the letter of the law. I have a terminal degree, I was honors student, and I understand how to interpret and read laws, so I was a bit shocked when I started hearing this new interpretation of our law pop up over the past weeks:

"It is illegal to put a pre ban magazine in a post ban gun".

There is 0 mention of this in our AWB, but I have heard this interpretation at three different locations in the last two weeks and I'm a bit concerned about where it is coming from.

I was sold a post ban AK from a registered FFL with a pre ban magazine included in the sale, so now I'm reluctant to take any of my rifles shooting as I only own pre ban magazines for the AK and one ten round for the AR. I could see getting swept up in this climate and having the law simply change without any actual notice.

Does anyone have any thoughts?

xrayoneone
01-12-13, 22:54
FWIW California's AWB is such you can have preban standard cap magazines but if you put them in a post ban rifles you' ve manufactured an assault rifle. Felony.

I wouldn't be surprised if our guvna Moonbeam and your guvna Ichabod Crane got on the same page regarding that.

mikelowrey
01-13-13, 02:00
Anything Previous 1994 Ban can be used in a Post ban AR. SO more easy to understand:

Do you have a magazines manufactured and bought before 1994?
If yes, it can be used on your post ban AR.

Anything related and manufactured after 1994 will be not compliant. Only LEO's are exempt of the current law in NY.