PDA

View Full Version : Feedback for beginner

Bcs379
01-23-13, 23:47
I apologize for posting this type of thread, but I have been researching as much as I can within the last few weeks and still baffled by the amount of information and options. I have a general consensus in what I am looking for, but at the same time would like feedback.

Background: I am interested in getting in to precision shooting. I am a college student graduating soon. Working full-time, I am saving up about $300-$600 per month to fund this.

Current skill set: None pretty much. This will be my first precision rifle. Once I graduate, I will have the free time to be able to take classes from reputable instructors.

Purpose: To begin to learn the concepts of long range precision shooting. I have a 100yd range within 5 miles of my house. I have a 500yd range within a 1.5 hour distance. I also plan to use this rifle for hunting in Florida and Georgia.

Budget: Scope --> $1,000 Rifle --> $800-$1,000 as a base line.

Currently looking at the following:
Either a .270, .30-06, or .308 caliber
Remington 700 Action

Any information, advice, or help would be appreciated.

-Brandon

orkan
01-24-13, 00:17
scope - Vortex Viper PST 4-16 mil/mil/ffp
rifle - rem700 sps varmint (you'll need the 26" tube to push 150's-155's hard for hunting)
seekins 20moa base
badger rings
harris bipod

That will be right in your budget.

In order to be right you'll need a new stock and a new trigger. Save for another month or two, and you'll be all the way there.

Bcs379
01-24-13, 00:33
Thank you Orkan.

I will definitely keep saving towards that.

Someone had recommended to me to wait until the Remington 783 hits stores, what's your opinion on that?

Also, of the three calibers listed above, is there one you recommend over others? If so, why?

ICANHITHIMMAN
01-24-13, 07:08
scope - Vortex Viper PST 4-16 mil/mil/ffp
rifle - rem700 sps varmint (you'll need the 26" tube to push 150's-155's hard for hunting)
seekins 20moa base