PDA

View Full Version : A couple questions about first build

Bolverk93
01-26-13, 11:56
As the title states I just have a couple of questions.

First off for my upper I am using a Colt 14.5" barrel and BCG with a Blem BCM upper, and a Centurion C4 rail.

I used Aero 33ms grease and torqued the barrel nut 3 times to 35 foot pounds. Now the teeth on the barrel nut are lined up perfectly at 30 foot pounds which I know is the lowest end of the spectrum. My only fear is that the C4 rails attach directly to the barrel nut and the possibility of loosening it up through handling the weapon. How much torque would be necessary to take it to the next tooth in the nut? I really prefer not to reem the receiver if it's not necessary.

Second. I'm not an armorer, but I am an 8 year Infantry veteran, and I have taken apart a few trigger assemblies. I have a Spikes stripped lower, and when I installed the PSA LPK I could not install the safety selector switch with the hammer installed. Before anyone asks; I did have the hammer in the cocked position. I also tried with a Daniel Defense FCG that was previously on another rifle, and had the same result. The trigger mechanism simply sat too high, as if the holes were drilled too low in the receiver.

I was able to install the selector switch after removing the hammer, and then reinstalling the hammer. The trigger mech functions as it should. I was just wondering if this is common with Spikes lowers, and if it is out of spec. One side benefit is that the trigger reset is great. There is zero over travel after the hammer is released.

AFshirt
01-26-13, 13:56