PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else think this whole 45Colt/410 revolver is a really bad idea?

brickboy240
01-28-13, 11:30
My father has a few friends that recently bought those Taurus Judges...thinking this was the ultimate in short range home defense.

I am sorry..I am no professional but I really....REALLY think these 45Colt/410 revolvers are a very bad idea.

First, there is the whole QC issue with anything from Taurus. We don't need to go into detail on that...do we?

Second, have you ever held one of these things? They just feel really odd in the hand. Not like a 4" Smith K-frame....just odd. Way too heavy and the triggers are terrible.

Third, I have shot rabbits and squirrels with 410s and not killed them with the first shot. That was while using 3" #4s and being fairly close. Ever patterned any 410 shell? Even at short ranges they pattern terribly and the 410 is only good for snakes at maybe 10yds max and that is it.

Fourth, the 45 Colt is about the same power class as the 45ACP. however, 45 Colt ammo is much more expensive and the range of SD rounds is much better in 45ACP than 45 Colt. Also, 45ACP is always easier to find than 45 Colt ammo. As far as SD goes...there is no huge advantage of the 45 Colt in a six gun over the 45ACP in a 1911, HK or Glock. Zero.

Fifth, many have bought in to the idea that you should mix the 410 shells and 45 Colts in their Judge revolvers. How bad of an idea is this? You have 2 rounds that vary in point of impact and recoil feel...being shot in succession in your SD pistol. Again...I am no professional but do NOT see ANY advantage to this at all.

So am I alone in thinking that the 45 Colt/410 revolver is just a terrible idea? Maybe loaded with 3" #4 shot in the tackle box for blasting snakes...ok...but NOT as a SD or HD firearm.

Comments?

-brickboy240

Littlelebowski
01-28-13, 11:37
Does anyone here not think this whole idea is moronic?

brickboy240
01-28-13, 11:40