PDA

View Full Version : Accuracy and reliability, what more could you want?

Jdbl14
01-30-13, 22:04
I have been shooting pistols regularly now for 5 or 6 years. The first pistol I personally owned was a Smith & Wesson SW9VE, otherwise known as, "the shittiest-cheap-piece-of-crap-Sigma". While I admit it's no amazing high-speed wonder gun, I think it's hilarious how "gun guys" judge it and me, for owning it.
In the years since I bought the Sigma, I have shot well over 5,000 rounds through it. Mostly shooting federal 115grain fmj from Wally World, but also numerous other fmj and hp rounds, even +p and +p+. In all the thousands of rounds I have never had one malfunction, not one. I honestly have treated the pistol like crap, barely cleaning or lubing it. I mean, heck, I didn't even spend $250 on it and 4 magazines...

One of the things I hear about constantly is how crappy the trigger is... Guess what, the trigger is heavy, has a bunch of pre-travel&over-travel, and crappy reset. The simple fact is this gun shoots where I put the sights, every time I pull the trigger. As long as I don't let the gun push me around, it does its job, flawlessly...

But wait you say, "you just admitted that the trigger is horrible, that's a flaw". I guess it could be, but I as a responsible grown-up use my brain and take advantage of what I have, not what I could spend more to get.

Nowadays I own multiple pistols, I haven't gotten rid of the Sigma, why should I. It's not the prettiest, but it works. I have guys all the time tell me how I really should get a good 1911, so I can see what a "real" handgun is like. Now I understand that in competition all the little things can really add up, but for range and possible home defense, what's wrong with something that just works? To this day, including ammo I haven't even spent the cost of a "properly" set up 1911.