PDA

View Full Version : Charter Arms Undercover "tiger"

45DAVID1
02-13-13, 13:52
Would you trust your life with a Charter Arms revolver? Aside from the heavy trigger pull and a few uneven lines my lil revolver seems to work just fine. I know many people do not like them although they have never owned one. For the owners of them out there what do you like/dislike about them?

BillSWPA
02-20-13, 15:49
While I have no experience with recent production Charter Arms guns, the Undercover from the 1980's has one of the best front sights I have seen on a small frame .38. I do know knowledgeable people who carried them back then.

warpigM-4
02-20-13, 16:04
My cousin has a 38 that she got in the 90's it is still going and shoots pretty good .
Not the best out there but her's is a good reliable shooter she still carries it to this day
about the only thing wrong with it was a little rust from not oiling it and just leaving it in her purse all the time

I am not sure about the current production models

warpedcamshaft
02-24-13, 23:30
My personal policy after being exposed to many revolvers is thus:

S&W, Colt, or Ruger.

Lay down the extra money, and it will last your lifetime.

Dave James
02-25-13, 08:58
If your budget restricts you to a Charter, there's not a damn thing wrong with them, as long as you understand they nay need to be smooth up, have done so for a few of my old Officers who carry them, and even those who have moved on to other wheel guns have kept the Charters as back up pieces

SteveS
03-24-13, 20:15
It is not a target gun and any snubbies best use is up close and personal.

Bubba FAL
04-07-13, 01:16
I've had a Charter .44 Bulldog for ~10 years now. Spent some time with crocus cloth smoothing the rough edges and had to modify the LH grip for speedloader clearance.

Can't recall any functional issues with it - I used to carry/shoot it a lot. It has killed a fair number of cottonmouths using shot loads.

bigbang
04-07-13, 01:30