PDA

View Full Version : My experience: 3 types of ammo

Fozzy_Bear
03-11-08, 09:40
I just finished assembling my first Black Rifle and I took it to the range this weekend.

--Just for reference; It's a DPMS receiver with a RRA LPK (Hogue grip upgrade), Bushmaster complete upper (20 inch, A2 ), and a cheap eBay stock (it was the last piece I needed and I couldn't wait for a good deal on a stock to come around... Also, I used a Colt-manufactured 30 round magazine)--

I wanted to test everything out, and I wanted to see what worked well in my rifle, so I shot 3 different types of ammo. I figured I'd share the info here.

But, PLEASE NOTE:::: I am new to the whole Black Rifle culture (not firearms in general though) and I am not trying to get into the religious war that is Ammo selection, I'm just passing on direct First Hand experience about how MY weapon functioned.

That being said, I used

20 rounds - of PMC Bronze 55gr FMJBT sold as .223

19 rounds of Wolf 62gr FMJ sold as .223
and
19 rounds of Winchester 55gr FMJ sold as 5.56 ( could tell the higher pressure)

( I disassembled one of the Wolf and Winchester to compare them...)

total round count : 58.

So on with the info:

The rounds marked as 5.56 were clearly higher powered than either of the .223 marked rounds. I was aware that was how it should be, but I was actually surprised that I was able to notice such a difference.

The 20 rounds of PMC were consistent and at least as accurate as I am.
My personal goal is to have a pattern no bigger than the area of my fist --if I put my fist on the target, all the holes should be covered. - I figure if I were standing next to something and punched it, that would be my pattern and if my firearm is as good as my fist... That's good enough for me, since I don't have a job, or life, where I am depending on my weapon. --

The Winchester was more accurate, and definitely more powerful. - I wouldn't hesitate to use it if I were to actually NEED my weapon.