PDA

View Full Version : BCM barrells (ION coated vs. not)

C4vettrn
02-16-13, 13:38
Hey guys, new to the thread and wanted to get anyones opinion on the coated BCM barrells. Are they Match Grade? Need Pro's/Con's and is it a must have upgrade for $60? Also they don't list any weights. and that is somthing I will pay close attention to. If i can build a 20" in the same weight i.e. fluted, for not much more I may go that route. Also is the 1/8 twist a good compimise for bullet weights? This is my first build and leaning more towards a precision build vs.CQB.

Other choices are WOA, Raniere Ultra Match and Noveske

Thanks! P.S. great site with great info!

samuse
02-16-13, 13:53
Do you want a black barrel or a silver one?

There's no definition of 'Match Grade'.

I shoot a lot of CQB type matches and accuracy is not a very big factor. There's some 3-gun matches that get out there to 3-400+ yards that I would not be able to be competitive in... So it just depends on what you think you want/need.

WOA, Rainier and Noveske all make great barrels, can't go wrong with any of 'em as far as I know. 1/8 will stabilize pretty much anything up to 77 grains AFAIK. Maybe more, but you may run into OAL too long for a magazine.

C4vettrn
02-16-13, 20:04
Ok, how about are they capable of sub MOA with good ammo? does anyone know who's blanks they use? last question are they comparable to the others listed above i.e. WOA, Raniere ulta match and Noveske

thehun
02-16-13, 22:03
If you want sub-moa precision...its called a bolt gun

Koshinn
02-16-13, 22:24
Ok, how about are they capable of sub MOA with good ammo? does anyone know who's blanks they use? last question are they comparable to the others listed above i.e. WOA, Raniere ulta match and Noveske

It's a trade secret on who makes bcm barrels, but they are made to bcm specs so they're good to go. I think Rainier has the best value in accuracy.