PDA

View Full Version : USPS Lost my Lower... What now?

NeoNeanderthal
02-18-13, 12:46
Searched on here and couldn't find anything so I'm hoping i could get some advice.

Long story short. Wanted a stripped lower during the panic, the only one available was in Maine (I'm in NH). My friend was going to the shop to buy one for himself so he picked up an extra one to help me out. After some research we found that he couldn't just private sell it to me, because it would be crossing state lines.

He went to his ffl and had him ship it to my ffl, but was in a rush and didn't get tracking number/insurance on it.

12 days later it has not arrived at my ffl. Sooo what should we do? I've never purchased a firearm over the internet or had one mailed to me so i'm new to this aspect.

sapper36
02-18-13, 12:56
Claim the insurance and start looking for a new one. It is happening a lot latley, they have misplaced a LMT BCG that I sent out last week.

NeoNeanderthal
02-18-13, 12:57
wasnt insured.

aguila327
02-18-13, 12:57
Its on the shipping FFL. I dont know whos telling you he was in a rush, but I would tslk to that Ffl. He must have a record of that shipment and day it shipped.

This whole story seems suspect considering that firearms must ship under certain conditions.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

1gunzenuf
02-18-13, 13:00
Without tracking and/or insurance, I am not sure what if any recourse you would have.

How was it packaged? Did it have identifying markings on the package? If so, it is likely that someone recognized it for what it was and appropriated the package for themselves.

My guess is that you will have to contact the post office and get their official statement on what can or cannot be done.

Tough break and I feel for you, but I would say that unless it happens to arrive after a few days that this is one of those moments in life when you get to learn from a mistake.

Roadblock
02-18-13, 13:01