PDA

View Full Version : Remington 700 Police (.308)

CLHC
02-18-13, 21:56
Greetings M4C Members!

The local FFL arms dealer down the street from me has a NIB Remington 700P Rifle as indicated:

Barrel: 26" Heavy Contour Free Floating
Stock: Matte Black HS Precision Semi-Beaver Tail Palm Swell
Bedding: Aircraft Grade Aluminum Bedding Block
Optic: Leupold Mk III 3.5–10x40 Tactical (?)*
Price: $1299USD

Let me preface that I have no experience with nor do I know anything about bolt-action rifles. There are myriads of these on the market in varying configurations and an overwhelming abundance of accessories and optics for said rifle. What I was thinking is that this may be an entry level means to get me into long range shooting and will see how it proceeds from here/there. If all goes well, this may possibly serve as my first bolt-action rifle. If not, I can save up and wait.

Any thoughts on this specific rifle would be gratefully appreciated!

* Did a Google search for said scope but could not find any information. Possibly dealer meant Leupold Vari-X III?

C-grunt
02-18-13, 22:15
I think that's an older scope that they don't make anymore.

By the way you probably should have put this in the Precision rifle section.

CLHC
02-18-13, 22:16
I think that's an older scope that they don't make anymore.

By the way you probably should have put this in the Precision rifle section.
Thanks! Just noticed that soon after posting.

TheAxeShooter
02-18-13, 23:26
If you're just looking to shoot something new I'd say go for it. You can get entry level Remington 700s for around $600 though just so you know. But I always have a lot of fun shooting bolt action rifles. Maybe there are some cheaper options but the r700 gives a lot of bang for your buck. If you just want a 308 you can look into semi autos too. They are just as accurate with faster follow up shots.

CLHC
02-19-13, 15:03