PDA

View Full Version : gripping a carbine

gogetaglock
02-19-13, 14:37
i am new to the rifle world ( less than 3 months ) and was wondering for combat style use is gripping it around the magwell good or bad thanks

Samson1
02-19-13, 14:43
i am new to the rifle world ( less than 3 months ) and was wondering for combat style use is gripping it around the magwell good or bad thanks

There are plenty of proper ways. If you're looking for the latest "cool" looking style just check out half the clowns on YouTube. If you're looking for the proper way to employ your weapon effectively, I would look to the training section, then get some ammo and find a good carbine course close to you. Remember to keep an open mind.

Traveshamockery
02-19-13, 14:45

This style is out of vogue with most reputable trainers I'm aware of. As suggested, take a class with a good trainer - it's well worth the money.

markm
It's A method. As long as you keep your hand from causing ejection malfs.

Most people are running a more forward hold on the handguards. Position and situation dictate it for me.

I don't get locked in to any single technique.

bigwagon
These are the approved stances:

http://i178.photobucket.com/albums/w273/bigwagon/image0096oa_zps67ce00e7.jpg

http://i178.photobucket.com/albums/w273/bigwagon/image0103bt_zpsc066916d.jpg

markm
02-19-13, 14:47
This style is out of vogue with most reputable trainers I'm aware of.

This nails it. The trainers are constantly changing what is en vogue to keep the classes full.

I think people should try stuff and God forbid... THINK FOR THEMSELVES. :eek:

dash1
02-19-13, 14:47
An analogy that LAV uses is that you wouldn't grip a broom with your hands close together, because you wouldn't have any leverage. The same holds true for a rifle/carbine. To gain leverage and more control, I would recommend placing your support hand as far forward as is comfortably possible.

markm
02-19-13, 14:50