PDA

View Full Version : Built my "perfect" AR

Troy9749
03-06-13, 14:07
I guess it's been about 2 years now that I've had AR fever. I'm going to guess that about 8 have been through my hands in that time. I've had A2's, A3's, a Dissipator, M4's, a Reece setup, one in 7.62x39. Some I bought, some I built, most I rebuilt and rebuilt like an expensive version of Big Boy Legos. I loved them all, but there was something missing in all of them. So I set out to take all the things I'd liked and disliked about all of them and figure out what I wanted in a rifle. I'm no professional anything related to firearms, so this is a general purpose civilian rifle for range time, possible home defense, or a SHTF situation.

What I decided on was a light, compact rifle that would be easy to shoot. Something that was easy to carry that I could start training my wife and boys with that they could handle easily. I wanted to try a compensator and an adjustable gas block to see what kind of recoil management and muzzle control I could get. I don't like quad rails and vertical grips, I prefer a round hand guard and I love the Magpul AFG. Also, as my boys are 9 & 10 and my wife is 5'1" the forened diameter needs to be on the small side to allow them to grip it more effectively.

It needs ambi controls because I'm left handed and the rest of my family isn't. I also wanted to go with a red dot on this one as it's not intended to be a long range rifle, though I do plan on zeroing my Burris 332 scope to this gun as well just to have another option.

Unfortunately I decided to undertake this project about 2 weeks before Sandy Hook, so it's been a bumpy road. Fortunately I had a stripped lower, stripper upper, lower parts kit, stock kit, handguard, and a few other little odds and ends already. Unfortunately I didn't have a barrel or a BCG.

SO HERE SHE IS.

She weighs in at 6 lbs 2 oz unloaded without the Aimpoint, 8 1/2 lbs loaded with the optic.