PDA

View Full Version : What markings cant be removed for pistol?

Moose08
03-06-13, 18:33
I tried to Googled and search here for the answer but i couldn't find it,

I'm going to do some custom slide milling on my M&P9 and my M&P.22
and was wondering if there are any markings that can't be milled off due to NFA rules, like M&P 9 or Smith & Wesson Springfield, MA U.S.A, or does the serial on the slide the only thing that matters?

GUNSLINGER733
03-06-13, 18:35
Serial number will be only part that matters.

Moose08
03-06-13, 18:53
Thank ya

DWood
03-06-13, 19:13
I am no expert, but I believe the information above might be incorrect.

http://www.atf.gov/firearms/guides/importation-verification/firearms-verification-overview.html

T2C
03-06-13, 19:16

http://www.atf.gov/firearms/guides/importation-verification/firearms-verification-overview.html

You are correct sir. Defacing firearm markings can get you some serious time in Federal prison.

citizensoldier16
03-06-13, 19:51
You are correct sir. Defacing firearm markings can get you some serious time in Federal prison.

Not necessarily true. The link, and the text contained therein, applies to importers and domestic manufacturers...not individual consumers.

While I'm not sure why one would want to remove markings, altering a privately owned (non-NFA) firearm is legal, provided one does not remove the SN.

DWood
03-06-13, 19:58
Not necessarily true. The link, and the text contained therein, applies to importers and domestic manufacturers...not individual consumers.

While I'm not sure why one would want to remove markings, altering a privately owned (non-NFA) firearm is legal, provided one does not remove the SN.

And at the end of the day, what's the point? Because it "looks cool"? I'll pass, but if it works for anyone else, go for it.