PDA

View Full Version : handgun choices and methods for various carry situations

Mag360
03-08-13, 08:23
While I'm fortunate enough to live in a county that will issue permits to carry (license to carry) to normal folks I am limited with how many guns I can put on my permit (3).

I've been carrying for a couple years now and I find myself having a very easy time for regular day to day dress, jeans, shorts, t shirt, polo, or some type of lightweight unbuttoned shirt on top of my t shirt depending on the situation. The difficulty is dressing in suits for me or situations where it is better to not have a gun on my hip or it is undesirable such as really crowded areas. Usually I just tuck my shirt around my Comp Tac M-Tac holster but it looks sloppy and then I can't have my jacket off as often since the clips still show too.

I like the smart carry holster think "crotch carry" for lack of a better term but am worried about carrying loaded chamber with my current carry choices (all glocks). I'm thinking some type of small, thin, 9mm with a safety like the M&P is just about perfect for what I am looking for. Now i've seen people stick those trigger block plastic pieces on their glocks, is that a viable option for what I want to do?

I currently have a G19, G26 (every day gun), and a G20 for hiking. I'm open to any opinions on the matter of carry or which guns I should buy and add or remove from my permit.

bzdog
03-08-13, 08:38
I prefer a good "tee holster" for deep concealment (needs to be strong and snug to avoid movement), but had similar concerns about protecting the trigger. What I did is make a Kydex "taco" for my firearm:

http://www.defensivecarry.com/forum/defensive-carry-holsters-carry-options/26845-uc-comfort-action-video-finally-6.html#post472355