PDA

View Full Version : Precision Rifle Bullet TLC

Ttwwaack
03-16-13, 01:16
It is surprising where technology has gotten to today. I've been loading for about 25 years and being a perfectionist have spent some foolish money on the latest and greatest. The below questions are in referance to the 600m - 1000 neighborhood.

Is base to ogive sorting worth it?

Is weight sorting worth it?

Is metplat trimming advantagious for group size reduction all conditions being equal?

If you are trimming metplats, do you repoint? If not, why?

The past couple of months I've been playing with base -> ogive sorting have gotten alot more consistant OAL (Ogive-Lead) perticularly with a couple boxes of 175 SMKs. Then the other day I got ahold of a box of 2006 M118 LR and pulled them apart to reverse engineer and discovered a few things (Its written, just have to post it in the A.M.

jstone
03-16-13, 21:05
I have tried sorting, none of my rifle are accurate enough to really gain anything. One type of sorting have been thinking about trying is, sorting by bearing length. From what i have read it is one of the most effective methods of sorting.

I have had better luck with case preparation. Once you have the basics down reloading techniques vary from loader to loader greatly. What some swear by others dismiss as trivial. Once you start sorting by case weight you find another way to sort. Its a never ending cycle. If you get real anal about sorting you will spend more time loading than shooting. While i love reloading i still prefer shooting over reloading any day.

Right now the only thing i sort is the cases by manufacturer and date. I never load mixed brass not even for pistol. I may try the bearing length in the future, but for right now i spend enough time sorting the cases by manufacturer.

You have a decade on me for time spent reloading. Do you sort, and if you do how? Have you noticed any gain in performance with the sorting base to ogive? Id like to hear your take on sorting.