PDA

View Full Version : No Brass, No Ammo!

panzerr
03-22-08, 09:03
I'm new to shooting carbines on my own dime and am looking for a (relatively) inexpensive way to put rounds down range. My dad has a nice Dillon press that we have used to reload thousands of 45 ACP and recently set up for 5.56.

My original idea was to purchase 1000 rounds of decent quality ammunition with good brass which I could use to reload. My thinking here is I would know how many times the brass has been used so I would have a better idea of when the brass will be too stretched out to reload. I would also like to jump start this season without having to reload a bunch of rounds since I'm out of town for work and thus about 1000 miles away from the press.

So, any suggestions which type of ammo I should get that will have good brass for reloading yet still be relatively cheap?

Any suggestions on a bullet source or weight (I've got a 1:7 14.7 inch LMT)?

Being that I've never reloaded 5.56, does anyone have any other pointers? Powder? Primers?

School me up.

Ridgerunner665
03-22-08, 10:13
I can tell you this...its not easy to replicate the performance of mil-spec ammo. I keep falling short on fps (about 100 fps)....I have tried every powder there is, and the best combo in my gun (a S&W) is 26 grains of Reloder 15 under a 62 grain bullet, CCI primers, OAL is 2.26...that same load with CCI 41 primers is 25.5 grains of powder.

55 grain bullets are not so complicated....Varget and IMR4895 work pretty good.

Good luck....there doesn't seem to be much help in reloading on this forum..or at least I have found it hard to come by.

gyp_c2
03-22-08, 10:57
...so far, Prvi Partizan has been a friend to me...
Consistently goes bang and brass cased...available through multiple sources including :
G+R Tactical...http://emoticons4u.com/smoking/rauch06.gif