PDA

View Full Version : Ammo questions for Ruger LCR Shooters

Maineshooter
04-08-13, 21:51
My father just picked up a Ruger LCR .38 special for personal defense. I have very little experience snubbies and neither does he. Anyone have a preference for defensive ammo that shoots POI/POA? I would guess this would be somewhere in the 7 yard range with the right ammo. I was eyeballing the Horndady Critical Defense 110 gr. load as a possible choice.

I will only have a short time to spend with the gun, but I would like to get the ammo choice tested as well as some handloads worked up for him that shoot reasonably to the same POI.

Any comments from LCR owners would be appreciated.

khc3
04-09-13, 07:25
Currently, the Speer Gold Dot 135 gr +P JHP, Winchester 130 gr bonded +P JHP (RA38B), and Barnes 110 gr XPB all copper JHP (for ex. in the Corbon DPX loading) offer the most reliable expansion we have seen from a .38 sp 2” BUG; Hornady 110 gr standard pressure and +P Critical Defense loads also offer good performance out of 2" barrel revolvers.

From this thread (https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=19914).

dmaxfireman
04-09-13, 09:14
I carry the 135g +p gold dots as well. POA POI accurate with a XS Dot on both of my 357 LCR's

Maineshooter
04-09-13, 11:10
I have had good luck with Speer Gold Dot in other calibers - it looks like a winner.

Thanks for the information.

ImBroke
04-09-13, 11:39
I have an LCR 38. Just like most 38 and 357 revolvers, the sights are regulated for a standard 158gr load. I have found that the Speer 135+p Gold Dot shoots to point of aim.

The Hornady 110gr load shoots low. Like 4 inches low at 15 yards.

If he is new to revolvers and especially lightweight ones that recoil a lot, point of impact differences will most likely not really be noticeable between loads b/c his groups will suck anyway. As he gets better and his trigger control and sight alignment improve he will see a difference.

twistedcomrade
04-25-13, 19:27