PDA

View Full Version : Magpul MS4...how does it adjust?

WS6
04-09-13, 03:46
I'm doing something wrong. I have to be. I can loosen it by pulling the "loop" down, but I literally think I would bend the handguard if I were strong enough trying to tighten it while wearing it. Is it meant to be set and forget? Because I can't use it like that. I have to loosen it to go to 2-point, and tighten it for best performance as a single-point. Do I need to pull on the loop at some funky "just right" angle, or what?

When I take the rifle off, I can adjust it fine, it's just the angle I wear it at, you would bend the handgaurd before it moved it seems. I set the muzzle on my floor to pin the rifle and pulled like a mofo and it wouldn't slide. I have to be doing this wrong some stupid how.

I am a total noob to slings. I used to just run a single-point because it kicks ass (I set it up and don't dick with it. When I need the gun it's there, when I don't it's hanging or bouncing against my leg like a happy puppy as I run. So effortless.)and requires zero thought. Climbing is a pain with it, though, so I am trying 2-point.

MrCleanOK
04-09-13, 12:45
I don't have any hands on experience with the Magpul MS3 or MS4, but when I read your thread I got curious and went looking for pictures. I have read a few product descriptions that claim easy one-handed adjustment, but I just can't visualise it based on the hardware on the sling.

I prefer 2-point slings, and have used VCAS quick-adjust slings on two deployments. They're a truly one-handed, adjustable 2-point sling that doesn't leave a tail hanging. As far as I'm concerned, they're the gold standard for modern rifles slings.

mrvco
04-09-13, 12:51
There is a demo video from the 2009 Shot Show linked on the Magpul site for the MS3... they certainly make it look easy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xcYsl1XrsNc&feature=related

Who has the MS4 in stock?

Burls
04-09-13, 12:58
Who has the MS4 in stock?

DSG Arms has them in stock.