PDA

View Full Version : Developing a bolt action rifle battery

Crow Hunter
04-11-13, 08:59
I want to create a bolt action rifle battery.

I want this battery to be as similar as possible in function/safety location.

I want my battery to consist of .22LR, .22 Magnum, .223 and .308 all with sporter weight barrels.

In the future, I might wind up getting heavy barreled versions in .223/.308 as well.

What companies or combinations of companies could get me this "setup"?

Ruger is the only one that I have found that has most of these options. I have no experience at all with Ruger bolt action guns.

I currently own .22 and .22 Magnum Marlins, and from what I can remember, Remington has a similar safety setup and that is what I am leaning towards right now. (In the late '90s I owned a Remington 700P LTR and a 700P DBM in .300 Win Mag)

My only other bolt action rifle experience is with Browning A-bolts that I used to hunt with. (.223 Varmint, .223 Sporter, .30-06 and .308)

What other options are out there and what are your experiences with them?

Campbell
04-11-13, 12:38
CZ should be worth a look. Have owned a couple in the 527 series, well built rifles.

Crow Hunter
04-11-13, 13:03
CZ should be worth a look. Have owned a couple in the 527 series, well built rifles.

CZ is hard to find in my area for me to check out.

Do the safeties work the same/in the same place on the rimfires and the centerfires?

Campbell
04-11-13, 19:58
I never owned any rimfires, but the 527 is a true "mini-mauser", just like their full size and magnum rifles. Mine had no plastic, no nylon, just steel...;)

saddlerocker
05-03-13, 20:34
Savage?

Crow Hunter
05-03-13, 20:38
Savage?

Can you get a .22 Magnum and a .22LR with safeties in the same place?

I haven't actually ever handled a Savage rimfire gun honestly.

I used to have a Savage 110 and I liked it.

saddlerocker
05-03-13, 21:13
Can you get a .22 Magnum and a .22LR with safeties in the same place?