PDA

View Full Version : FTF pre-cautions

ampfizo
03-24-08, 21:38
need some help...i found a buyer for my p22 (paying my asking price instead of the gun shop)

this is my first time dealing with a ftf firearm transaction...what pre cautions so i look for and what if any documents so i need from the purchaser???

DrMark
03-24-08, 22:04
Requirements vary by state.

What state are you and the buyer in?

rhino
03-25-08, 07:05
If private transfers are legal in your state, I would:

Get a copy (or at least see and record the numbers) of a valid license/permit to carry. That should be reasonable evidence that the people is not otherwise barred from receiving the gun from you.

Get a copy (or numbers) of a valid id (driver's license).

When I do such things, I draft a bill of sale including the information above with name, address, etc.

None of this is necessary (where I live), but it makes me feel better in a CYA kind of way (whether it helps or not is unknown to me).

tuff
03-25-08, 07:35
If private transfers are legal in your state, I would:

Get a copy (or at least see and record the numbers) of a valid license/permit to carry. That should be reasonable evidence that the people is not otherwise barred from receiving the gun from you.

Get a copy (or numbers) of a valid id (driver's license).

When I do such things, I draft a bill of sale including the information above with name, address, etc.

None of this is necessary (where I live), but it makes me feel better in a CYA kind of way (whether it helps or not is unknown to me).

Great advise.......

ampfizo
03-25-08, 09:11
im in texas....and the buyer is in texas....as far as DL id goes...how would you if the buyer has a conviction or not....i talk to the buyer and inform me he has no chl but can provide me with a copy of his DL...1st time in open water you know..wana take all the pre cautions i can...

and thanks for the advice...

Business_Casual
03-25-08, 10:40