PDA

View Full Version : KAC or LaRue...?

DDM4LV1
05-02-13, 10:56
OK, help me out here, but please, so as not to get sidetracked, can we please stick to just what I am inquiring about...these two brands...not "you should get this or that & I have this...?"...I mean, I know all the others and have looked at them, but have narrowed it down to these for my own reasons, and what I am after from y'all, is your educated opinion between just these two companies and these specific "models" listed.

A HUGE thanks to all who participate...as I have NO experience with either.
So what I am looking at is;
1. A light compact rifle / carbine in 7.62x51
2. the same as above but in 5.56NATO

As to #1, if I am comparing oranges to oranges I have these:

LaRue OBR 7.62 16"

Knights Armament SR25 Enhanced Carbine 16"

...the KAC in same barrel (16") length is 1 pound heavier...closest they have to the LaRue.
However, there is a "tangerene" offered by LaRue, the LaRue PredatAR 7.62 16"...which is 2.5 lbs. lighter than the KAC 1.5 lighter than the OBR.
Hence, I am leaning towards the LaRue in a 7.62 for that very reason they have by far the lightest between the two companies.

As to #2 (5.56NATO) guns;

KAC SR-15 E3 IWS Carbine 16"

PredatAR 5.56 16"

...the KAC in this caliber / model is only 1/4 lbs. heavier, non-issue here...leaning towards the KAC between these 2 companies & models in this caliber?

What say you?
Thanks!:help:

VIP3R 237
05-02-13, 11:07
I vote for KAC.

Now this is a sample size of exactly one but my buddy with a OBR has had a hell of a time getting his rifle to function correctly. When it does it is a very accurate firearm, but so are all of the SR25's.

Also the group of professionals at KAC are second to none IMO.

Mak8080
05-02-13, 11:58
Both are awesome quality. You really can't go wrong with either.