PDA

View Full Version : Converting from .40cal to 9mm

Relyt
05-17-13, 23:22
Ok... yes I know the title seems a little blasphemous, but hear me out.

I love my Kimber TLErl2 .45..... ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT. I lover Kimber so much I also bought the Kimber Mountain Ascent .308 rifle for $2000ish. That is how much I love the Kimber world.

However, on a DAILY basis I carry a Glock 27 or a Glock 23 as it works for me and my duty gun is a Glock22.

In my night stand I have always had my Glock 23 ready to rock and roll. I am very used to the 40 cal as I am a cop and we carry the Glock 22s.....

SO HERE IS WHERE IT GETS INTERESTING. I bought my wife a Glock 26 a few months ago and took her to the range. Almost right away, I fell in love with the speed and accuracy I could shoot with her 26. So today, I went ahead and mixed things up. I purchased a Glock 17. Before we can carry any new weapon we have to go to the department to qualify. Well, I ran up to my Dept, met with the range instructor and started shooting the Glock 17. I am 100 times more in love with it than I am with my duty Glock 22. I was able to shoot INSANELY fast and remain accurate. When I took my time but still shot at a steady pace I was able to put bullet hole in bullet hole without even attempting to "focus".

From reading FBI statistics (yes I know I am about to open a can of worms), the correct "duty round" for a 9mm is not much worse than a 40cal. Guess what, and it allows for a few extra rounds in the magazine. I NEVER thought I would fall in love with a 9mm. WOW, was I wrong. My next purchase is the Glock 19 as soon as they get some Blue Label Specials in at the gun store.

In my mindset after reading an article the other day is the following: