PDA

View Full Version : How do I align a clamp-on gas block accuratly?

BrickShitHouse
05-21-13, 18:11
I'm kind of new to building AR uppers and am wondering how to line up the gas ports on the block and barrel. How do you guys do it?

I was thinking of just marking the ports on the outside with a marker...

Ryno12
05-21-13, 18:23
I measured the distance from the shoulder on the barrel to the gas port & the same on the gas block. Align accordingly.

Sent via Tapatalk

BrickShitHouse
05-23-13, 03:12
I measured the distance from the shoulder on the barrel to the gas port & the same on the gas block. Align accordingly.

Sent via Tapatalk

Thank you sir

Iraqgunz
05-23-13, 04:24
I strongly encourage you to use a gas block with set screws. Make sure the screws have the little teeth to allow them to dig into the barrel. Ideally I would make sure it is dimpled.

mark5pt56
05-23-13, 05:39
This is what I do-I place a mark using a pencil on the block, indicating the center of the port and then draw a line line using a straight edge to indicate the center of the barrel's gas port, place a mark on the barrel's shoulder. Most blocks are designed to go on a barrel that had the handguard end cap removed. Leave that thickness of a HG cap in between the shoulder and block. Never had a problem this way. If unsure, you can always measure the distance from shoulder to center and same for block.

I would dimple the barrel once mounted and tested, one trick is to stake the set screws once tightened. Of course, I always have it pinned.

Hope that helps.

SCatalyst
05-23-13, 09:20
I swear to God, true story. I was in a shop just recently and the smith said, 'I put my lips around the gas tube and blow til I find the sweet spot (least resistance).'

The guy was an prior service old timer, obviously already set in his ways. So I didn't make fun of him, but it did take a lot to hold my composure.

skijunkie55
05-23-13, 09:35