PDA

View Full Version : problem with a Vickers Tactical slide stop

azimuth
05-25-13, 21:04
Hey guys I've got an odd problem here and am hoping someone can set me straight. I did a search but maybe my search-fu is weak.

I've been running Glocks for 15 years and have always done my own part installations. Not because I'm a genius but because the Glock is so dirt simple. I've been running the excellent Vickers Tactical slide stop in all my current Glocks (gen 3's) since they were available. I've installed them for friends too, never had a problem.

I recently acquired a brand new gen 3 G17. Today I pulled out the OEM slide stop, put in the Vickers, and noticed the Vickers lever not moving easily, and with very little of the quick springiness you expect. I went back and forth between the OEM lever and the Vickers; every time the OEM worked fine but the Vickers was spongy and just not fitting right.

So I compared this brand new OEM lever, the Vickers lever, and an old OEM lever from a previous part replacement. Sure enough, the new OEM lever is visibly different from both the Vickers and the old OEM lever. Check out this pic:

http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o255/Fire-Is-Life/Glockslidestops01-annotated.jpg

The Vickers matches the old OEM just about perfectly, but the new OEM has a distinctly different profile along the top between the hole and the 'pad'. This must be affecting the fit because there's not much else going on there.

Anyone seen this before? I figured I would ask before hacking on the Vickers part.

acaixguard
05-25-13, 21:08
When you say spongy, do you mean the slide release would feel a little "stuck"? I adjusted the spring position a bit to get the most downward tension, and I also had to slightly widen the gap between the inside and outside of the thumb lever. It was a little narrow when I got it out of the box, which would cause it to rub too closely on the frame, which inhibited it from freely traveling up and down.
Hope this makes sense.