PDA

View Full Version : Self Defense and You. Do you know the law?

Iraqgunz
05-31-13, 01:58
In light of the recent shooting in Oregon and others that have happened I am genuinely curious to know something. Specifically I want to know if our members here have actually done research into their own states' laws in regards to the use of force.

Please do not respond to this if you think you know. I also don't want to have people post their states' laws. I simply want answers to the poll.

Alaskapopo
05-31-13, 02:03
Yes and I learned them well before I was a cop as a CCW holder in College.
Pat

SteyrAUG
05-31-13, 03:15
Vote to get them passed in most cases, aware of the ones that apply to me and do my best to stay current.

polymorpheous
05-31-13, 03:22
Right after WI passed it CCW law, I took a class on WI use of deadly force laws. It included some live fire time as well.
I later took my CCW class from the same instructor who reinforced the laws and the newly passed castle law in the course.

The instructor is a member of this board and a Milwaukee PD sergeant.
Good people.

Alpha Sierra
05-31-13, 04:07
I review the Ohio Revised Code several times a year and keep with legislative updates through the Buckeye Firearms Association.

It's scary how ignorant and/or stupid so many are. All one needs to do to verify that is read through the Ohioans For Concealed Carry forums and then bounce many of the statements made there against the ORC.

Todd00000
05-31-13, 05:31
Yes, and what I learned in the last state I lived in, NJ, was that the written law and how it was enforced were two different things. Based on LEO advice I used FMJ rounds in my bedside Glock even though hollow points were technically legal. My point is not only research the laws but how they are being enforced.

RalphK.
05-31-13, 05:51
I get a refresher every 6 months ;)

Sensei
05-31-13, 06:34