PDA

View Full Version : Gettin a new upper

cthompson36
06-01-13, 14:38
Hey guys, I'm going to buy myself a new upper as a graduation gift to myself. It's going to be a BCM 16" Carbine upper. It's one that doesnt come with a handguard so I have to get one of those too. I was looking at the midwest industries Gen II 2 piece free float handguard. I want the extended carbine to give me a little more rail real estate on it. Other than BCG and charging handle will this be all I need? Are there any special tools I need? How solid are the 2 piece handguards and does this sound like a good upper? Thanks guys, I know I'm new to this so I just wanted to get some imput so I dont do anything stupid.

weez440
06-01-13, 16:19
that's the same upper I bought and it is great! I put a 2 piece drop in rail in mine and went shooting, no tools needed.

edit: just seen that you are getting a free float so you would have to get the wrench to take it apart.

Grand58742
06-01-13, 16:22
Works with the OEM barrel nut per Bravo Company website, but requires removal of the delta ring per the MI website. So if you are new to the game, I'd have someone install it for you.

I've had a couple of sets of non-free float Midwest Industries I'm happy with. Locks up tight and gave me the mono top rail I was missing with the KAC RAS.

If you are looking at additional "rail real estate," why not go with a mid length and not worry about the free float rails that require modification? Looking at the BCM site, there aren't any manufacturers that make a drop in carbine extended rail system that I saw. All the ones they had listed will require some technical knowledge to install to some extent.

However, MI does a good drop in rail system for the mid length gas system and doesn't require any special tools or knowledge. You get two additional inches of rail space for generally the same price like your advice in this post:

https://www.m4carbine.net/showpost.php?p=1430573&postcount=59