PDA

View Full Version : Bird feeder vandalism....

Denali
06-06-13, 22:01
This very large bear has eaten half a dozen of my feeders so far this spring, his latest vandalism literally just moments ago.....I am a well seasoned wildlife photographer, I classify bears according to a four point system, small, medium, large, and very large.....

This guy came back in to the feeder tree just a moment after I retrieved the SD card from the camera trap after his first foray. I was on the deck as he came back in, his head being about the same size as a half barrel(width)of beer, but he was scared off due to my proximity. He came in a third time as I was preparing a camera for him, he barked at me several times, woofed once, and then once again bolted into the nearby forest, taking bird feeder number seven(7)with him after snapping the 1/4 " bungee that had held it to the tree.

Never a dull moment....

nml
06-06-13, 22:31
Ha yeah that's a big boy.

It's a lot warmer here, sure this wasn't take in winter or the mountains? :D

AKDoug
06-07-13, 00:11
This is precisely why my feeders come down at the end of April. I don't need bears in my yard and the birds don't need fed with the warmer temps :D

Zane1844
06-07-13, 00:18
I have a sort of similar "problem."

I catch this guy coming at least once a week stealing our avocado's. :D

https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/934772_355861397870394_1111880375_n.jpg

Denali
06-07-13, 00:23
Ha yeah that's a big boy.

It's a lot warmer here, sure this wasn't take in winter or the mountains? :D