PDA

View Full Version : Need info on two suppressors

OMEGA9000
06-06-13, 23:01
Howdy guys, so I am in the market for a 5.56 can and I am stuck between two suppressors. The suppressors are the KAC NT4 and the Surefire SOCOM 556-RC. I am planning to use it on a 10.3 DD MK18 upper. I am leaning towards the KAC because DD mentions that the FH on the factory upper is compatible with the NT4, the "deeper" tone that the can gives out, and the durability is legendary. But I have no idea of the POI shift on this can, no idea if it is repeatable POI shift. That is where the SF SOCOM seems better... repeatable POI shift, better db reduction, passed military's tests, and weights half a lb lighter. But I have no idea if I would like the tone of the SF SOCOM. If anyone who has experience with both cans or either on a 10in SBR please help me make good decision. I am new to suppressors and trying to find my way lol.

Pros & Cons of each suppressor ( chime in if I missed anything)
NT4:
PROS
-Deeper tone
-Legendary durability
-Compatible with DD FH
-Comes with KAC FH

CONS
-Heavier than SF SOCOM
-Louder than SF SOCOM in db
-Hard to find in stock

* Unknown POI shift/ repeatable POI shift??

Surefire SOCOM 556-RC:
PROS
-Great mounting
-lighter than NT4
-more db reduction
-SOCOM contract
-repeatable POI shift
-easier to find for sale

CONS
-Must buy new FH ( don't really like the long prong style FH)
-Not sure of pitch when fired

Both are pricey but worth it. I don't mind throwing down good money for a product that is going to last and I'm going to enjoy, but the surefire seems a little more expensive with the buying of the mount ( and cost for someone to do it) for little gain over the NT4. And lets also face it, the NT4 looks badass in taupe :D So if anyone can square me away on this, it would be greatly appreciated.

TehLlama
06-07-13, 01:28