PDA

View Full Version : Texas HS turns off Baledictoria MIC

platoonDaddy
06-08-13, 10:57
dang, even in Texas!

Texas high school silences Valedictorian's microphone during speech on Constitution, report says

A Texas high school silenced its Valedictorian’s microphone during his speech when he diverted from his pre-approved remarks and instead spoke about the Constitution.

Joshua High School graduate Remington Reimer, who was accepted into the Naval Academy, had his microphone silenced during his speech right after he told fellow graduates that school officials apparently threatened him with the move the day before, MyFoxDFW.com reported.

http://www.foxnews.com/us/2013/06/08/texas-high-school-silences-valedictorian-microphone-during-speech/

Kain
06-08-13, 13:57
I am unfortunately not surprised, at least not in this day and age.

When I graduated I knew our Valedictorian pretty good. His original graduation speech was not approved by teh school because they felt it didn't praise the school and student body well enough and told him pretty much what he could say. He wrote one that complied but on graduation did his original anyway. He got a standing ovation from the audience but I believe he was threatened by the school to not let him graduate because of the speech.

This wasn't even ten years ago either. Hell they threatened to frisk every student on graduation day because they didn't want us to have our cell phones on us and if we were found with a cell phone that they would hold our diplomas. They didn't but that was only because there was the counter-threat of a lawsuit if they did.

We live in crazy times, we really do.

RFB
06-08-13, 16:45
Go to government schools, get government rules.

Kain
06-08-13, 17:47
Go to government schools, get government rules.

May I quote that? I like that a lot.

RFB
06-08-13, 20:04
No problem.

tb-av
06-08-13, 20:31
dang, even in Texas!