PDA

View Full Version : Questions About Choosing Plates/Backers-Velocity Systems+General Questions

Jellybean
06-09-13, 21:21
Have a PIG PC on order, need plates. Figured it's now or never with all the shit flinging around. Most of what I see for civi's is Velocity Systems, so while I will be specifically referring to their offerings, this can also be generalized if there's more info/better options to be had. I wish I could have jumped on SKD's recent plate deal, but alas, I missed it. Bummer. :(

Be advised, there may be a little stupid here- I'm an armor noob.

Onward;

Plate Cut- standard "traditional" cut (http://www.optactical.com/vesybariples1.html) versus "shooter" cut (http://www.optactical.com/vesybariples.html)-

>Is there a really distinct advantage to be gained with one or the other?

>Am I going to have a problem with, say, the "shooter" cut fitting in different carriers? I know I mentioned the PIG I have on the way, but as I am a smaller guy, if that does not work out my next two choices are going to be the Mayflower APC[?] or Tyr GPC.
Needless to say, I am not made of money and will be blind pissed if I have to re-buy plates, on top of having to re-buy a carrier....

>In fact will I have a problem with EITHER VS plate fitting any of the above 3 carriers (PIG,May. APC, GPC) both standalone, or ICW the soft backers?

>Confirm that the back plate should be +1 size? So if I run a "medium" up front, run a "Large" in the back? OR just two of the same size"? I can't tell from people's gear pictures, and this doesn't seem to be a well covered topic.
I've been reading armor threads all day here- this one seemed to suggest the +1 size is true: https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=84789...
BUT again, I am a smaller guy and may not be physically able to do this...

Referring to Velocity the plates linked above-

>Are the VS plates multi hit?