PDA

View Full Version : Ejection port covers

jjakeyoon
06-16-13, 20:31
About how strong is the manganese phosphate coating on an ejection port cover? The reason why I ask is... because I was half asleep cleaning my guns last night, and I scrubbed the hell out of my ejection port cover face with some solvent and copper brush. And the copper from the brush just spread itself out on the surface so nicely, the goddam ejection port cover face is now copper colored. Any:no: ideas on how to get rid of this copper residue? And is this bad? For the ejection port cover I mean. I know this sounds weird, but will it chemically deteriorate the metal some how? I'm still new to the shooting world so please don't stone me over this... :)

AKDoug
06-16-13, 20:35
How dirty was it? It's a common thought that more damage is done by over cleaning an AR vs. not cleaning. I would think that a good oil soaked scrubby pad would do the trick to get it cleaned. There is absolutely no reason I can think of to clean an ejection port door with a metal brush.

jjakeyoon
06-16-13, 20:40
Exactly. As soon as I finished scrubbing, I was like "Woah, that was really dumb. Why did I do that?" For my own defense, I guess I thought I saw some carbon build up...

sgtrock82
06-16-13, 21:50
Use a bore cleaner, one with a copper remover even better. Scrub it with a plastic brush or even just some patches and elbow grease.

jjakeyoon
06-16-13, 22:03
Thanks. I will try that. I know this sounds really paranoid, but do you know if copper residue and/or copper solvents eat or negatively effect manganese phosphating?

Packing a 45
06-16-13, 22:14
Exactly. As soon as I finished scrubbing, I was like "Woah, that was really dumb. Why did I do that?" For my own defense, I guess I thought I saw some carbon build up...

Stones on way. Ammonia works on brass mabe copper test it first some place out of sight.

cthompson36
06-16-13, 22:41