PDA

View Full Version : How Safe is the M&P To Carry?

Mac5.56
06-25-13, 21:48
First let me put out the obligatory: Yes I searched before I posted.

I have heard talk about the "internal safeties" on the M&P series that prevent accidental firing on the models without external safeties but I am wondering if someone can explain to me how they work? The manual doesn't have any information on these features.

I'm use to guns with difficult and prohibitive safeties like old lever guns, Nagants, AK's etc but this is my first gun without any form of manual safety. It is also the only gun I've own where I am hesitant to keep a round in the chamber because I don't understand if there are any internal safeties and if so how they work.

Please keep in mind I'm very new to pistols, this is my third pistol and my first full size large caliber. This is a whole new world for me.

Edited to Add (Please Read Before Typing About My Trigger Finger:

I hesitated to reply here, but I am going to do so. If you are hesitating because of perceived technology, then the problem is with your handling skills and experience and not the weapon.

This is akin to asking whether it is safe to carry an AR with a loaded chamber should the selector lever "accidentally" move.

You should never rely on the mechanism of a weapon to prevent anything. The only thing that matters is that YOU follow established firearms safety protocols and weapon manipulation. Carrying ANY firearm can be dangerous. Weapons only accidentally fire when a component fails. If you are re-holstering and the weapon fires, its' because you didn't follow proper methods or you selected inferior gear.

OK, guys thanks.