PDA

View Full Version : Buying another AR = Analysis Paralysis

Cazwell
07-03-13, 17:04
Hey fellas,

haven't bought an AR in a while and wife has been wanting something simple and light for some upcoming carbine courses. Prices are finally starting to normalize around here so I am going to pick up another AR before something crazy happens again.

I am still learning, and you guys have never steered me wrong, so I'm going to throw out some options and ask for your thoughts and advice. Maybe you're bored at work and willing to do the "which AR should I buy" thing again :sarcastic:

Fist option is Colt LE 6920 Magpul/Moe addition in FDE. Brand new, never fired, $1350 asking price. Guy is likely not going to move on that.

Second option is a BCM middy upper, lo=pro gas block and a 12 inch Fortis rail, brand new in plastc BCM BCG and a brand new gunfighter charging handle (mod 3, 4 or 5, my choice).

BCM bbl, 1:7 twist.

Lower is a Palmetto state, with a Palmetto trigger and assorted BCM parts in the lower. Tube/Buffer etc is BCM. Stock is Vltor IMOD, FDE magpul furniture otherwise. Sights would be first gen Magpul MBUS.

This rifle is $1350 also.

THIRD Option is the second rifle, but he is willing to swap the barrel to a DD 14.5 LW carbine barrel with an FSB and a pinned Rainier arms XTC. IF I chose that barrel he would swap the rail for a 7 inch Centurion C4 rail.

Again, this configuration would be $1350.

Now, this would be for my wife, although I would get plenty of use out of it too. But, being for her, I am looking for light and easy handling. I know the Fortis rails are really light, but I know they are tall and I worry they may be difficult for her to grip. I am interested in the middy as i don't currently have one, but not sure the recoil difference for her would be appreciable, so may be a moot point.